Where there's a will there's a way.

Well there is at the BBC when it comes to biased reporting. A decision has been made on some level to post this rather large Have Your Say quote as soon as you click on the Middle East section.

Now you may think, nothing wrong with that, they're just reflecting public opinion, right? Wrong. Here are the most recommended comments by the readers:

Added: Monday, 14 August, 2006, 09:49 GMT 10:49 UK

The only thing that will lead to stability, is the disarming of Islamist groups that seek the destruction of Israel.

Sean Richards

Recommended by 560 people


Added: Monday, 14 August, 2006, 10:02 GMT 11:02 UK

Stability?

Let's see. Hezbollah is still commited to the destruction of Israel.
Still commited to the return of a tiny patch of land called the Shebba farms. The UN says it is Syrian land. Syria says it is Lebanese, but refuses to officially sign over the land.

Once Shebba is returned, no doubt Hezbollah will find a tree or a hedge that's still 'occupied' by Israel, and thus retain their arms.

There is no way a fanatical Islamist group like Hezbollah is going to just retire itself.

Greg S

Recommended by 546 people

Added: Monday, 14 August, 2006, 11:18 GMT 12:18 UK

Gilad Shalit (19), Ehud Goldwasser (31) and Eldad Regev (26). These are the three soldiers captured by the terrorists. Remember their names! And think of what they are going through. They have mothers and fathers who are CRYING over them. All you people who called for a ceasefire should be ashamed. How DARE you criticise Israel for its actions.

Avigdor, Jerusalem. ISRAEL

Recommended by 520 people

Added: Monday, 14 August, 2006, 10:16 GMT 11:16 UK

As long as Israel occupies the Arab land the durable ceasefire can not be achieved.
mohd.shajan, Kuwait

Well Israel UNoccupied Gaza & South Lebanon, and guess where the attacks came from?

The 'Palestinians' are hardly filling Israel with confidence about a West Bank pullout, given the complete mess they've made of being given Gaza.

Stephen None

Recommended by 514 people

Added: Monday, 14 August, 2006, 10:14 GMT 11:14 UK

"As long as the USA provides weapons (of mass destruction) to the Israelis there will never be peace in the region. Remember Jenin?"
wrote Samantha Knight

Truth is the first casualty. There was no Jenin massacre. The Israelis developed their own nuke. The US provides only 3% of Israeli GDP but 14% of Jordan's and 30% of the Palestinian authority's. Hezbollah was raining rockets on Israel. Few Arab leaders have the guts to abandon the rhetoric which too many Arabs believe.

Patrick Heren, Canterbury, United Kingdom

Recommended by 485 people

Added: Monday, 14 August, 2006, 09:45 GMT 10:45 UK

No. There will be no stability with Hezbollah still in existance and with Iran and Syria fuelling extremism.

JonathanT, London

Recommended by 471 people

If the people in charge of the Middle East BBC news website had any will to represent opinion then Have Your Say would say something like "No stability with Hezbollah still in existence"?



3 Responses to “Where there's a will there's a way.”

  1. # Blogger Malcolm

    Nothing to see.
    Nothing whatsoever to do with 'those nice boys that go to the mosque every Friday',
    nothing to do with the Al-Quedaphiles either.  

  2. # Blogger jonz

    Wrong thread lol
    So you still got a tan from Spain then?  

  3. # Blogger Malcolm

    oops. See above thread.

    Tanned face and hands only. :[  

Post a Comment

Links to this post

Create a Link


Looks odd? Use Firefox!

Email drunkenblogging AT gmail.com

XML

Search